Batman: The Four-Word Film Review

I know what you’re thinking. Another post about Batman?! Okay, I’ll make you a deal: I’ll stop talking about Batman when Batman stops being awesome. Deal? Deal.

Touché, Mr. Wayne. Touché.

Now that that’s squared away, I’d like to draw your attention to something my film class discussed today: the New York Times film capsules, which sum up new movies in 20 words or less (here’s a cool article about it).

An even more extreme version of these micro-reviews can be found on fwfr.com. Say hello to the Four-Word Film Review.

Check out the site and you’ll quickly see that this restriction on word-limit mostly just begets puns. But there’re definitely some gems to be found there, and they got me thinking of some of my own.

Here’s my attempt at a few for The Dark Knight Rises:

A straightforward, alliterative one:
Bald bruiser breaks Bat.

A slightly more thoughtful one:
Fistfight for Gotham’s soul.

A token-of-advice one:
Re-watch Batman Begins first.

And a goofy one:
Masked men mumble menacingly.

There you have it. This is what my brain does when I’m bored. Have another goofy picture.

Oh, Batman.

HEY THIS PART KINDA HAS TDKR SPOILERS IN IT SO BEWARE
(About the “fistfight” one: this was obviously inspired by a Joker quote (“You didn’t think I’d risk losing the battle for Gotham’s soul in a fistfight with you?”). I just found it fascinating that despite this remark the Joker made, Bane more or less does hinge his “battle for Gotham’s soul” on a fistfight with Batman. Granted, the odds are very much stacked in Bane’s favor on that front, and I know Bane didn’t plan on Batman returning to Gotham for a climactic battle. I just found that line interesting when comparing villains, is all.)

-Alyssa

About I've seen that movie, too

I'm just a girl who loves talking about music and movies. And music in movies.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

