Thoughts on the 85th Academy Awards

So, the 85th Academy Awards were last night. It was a night of glitz and pomp, and I mean that in the best way. All lame jokes and awkward slip-ups aside, the Academy Awards are a night of celebration for all things cinematic.

Because I’m sure you all know who won last night (and if you don’t, you can see the list of winners here), I’ll just give a short list of my thoughts on the awards show. And I’ll share a cool video, too.

Likes

  • That Skyfall won Oscars at all. It’s good to know that a high-grossing film (and a Bond film besides) isn’t automatically snubbed by the Academy.
  • The cast of Les Mis singing “One Day More.” Les Mis wasn’t my favorite film of the year by a long shot, but damn, this was a goosebump-inducing performance.
  • Jennifer Lawrence winning Best Actress for her powerful performance in Silver Linings Playbook. Though it also would’ve been neat for the 9-year-old Quvenzhané Wallis to take home the award.
  • Argo winning Best Picture. I can’t think of any other film that literally had me on the edge of my seat as I watched it. Incredible film. Also, Ben Affleck’s acceptance speech was adorable.

Dislikes

  • The tribute to 50 years of James Bond felt kind of… lacking. I know I’m not the only one who was expecting a Bond reunion. How cool would it have been to see Sean Connery, Pierce Brosnan, Timothy Dalton, et. al sharing the stage together?
  • Brave winning Best Animated Feature. I was disappointed to see the award go to a mediocre (albeit gorgeously-animated) Disney-Pixar flick. Personally, I would’ve liked to see any of the three stop-motion features win it (ParaNorman had my vote). Given the high quality of the nominees this year, I would have been happy with just about any other pick besides Brave.
  • The pick for Best Original Screenplay. Because I felt that Moonrise Kingdom was one of the best films of 2012, I think it should’ve gotten this award, along with a few more nominations.

Although the night has passed and the awards have been, er, awarded, I thought this video by Nelson Carvajal was worth sharing.  It’s a wordless tribute to all of the Best Picture winners up to 2011 that ends with the question of which film will be next. Even though we all know the answer now, this video is sure to appeal to the cinephile in all of us.

[youtube.com/watch?v=CXzRE1F1VLE]

-Alyssa

About I've seen that movie, too

I'm just a girl who loves talking about music and movies. And music in movies.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on the 85th Academy Awards

  1. Kelsey Shea says:

    Regarding the Animation Pick, I can’t even begin to explain the amount of agony and disappointment that passed over the digital media building here at my school when we learned “Brave” had won. The obvious picks for anyone I knew were either Wreck-It Ralph or Paranorman. Ralph had a superior story and smart design, and Paranorman had a lot of fantastic technical achievements and art direction. Both had stronger messages as well that could be understood on a much broader scope than Brave.

    The one nice thing about Brave winning, however, was that it meant the first win for a female director of an animated film, Brenda Chapman. Unfortunately she had been “unceremoniously dumped” from her position many months prior and replaced by Mark Hamill, so they shared the win. Many believe that the director swap is the reason for Brave to be as lacking as it is now.

    The argument for Brave winning seems to be that it just had Better Animation, but that’s like saying you pick the Best Actor because he has the prettiest face, not because of his actual skill. Animated films are much more than their craft, it’s about the visual development, the composition, the art direction, the voice acting, directing, producing, and most of all the STORY, just like a “regular” film. Animation is a MEANS not a GENRE. The idea that Brave was chosen simply because it was Pixar Animated is actually pretty insulting to the industry.

    I could continue on and on about this but it’s only a section of the Oscars and I just kind of ranted for three paragraphs and now everyone nearby is commenting on my aggressive typing!!

  2. I feel ya, Kels. Beautiful animation does not a quality film make, as you well know. Brave may have been remarkable in that the animators animated every strand of Merida’s wild hair and the sweeping landscapes of Scotland, but all that’s merely eye candy compared to plot, character, etc. Wreck-It Ralph was far cleverer and ParaNorman was far more daring in the themes it touched on. Picking Brave felt like a knee-jerk reaction: “Oh, this is Pixar, so it automatically wins.” So yeah. Preachin’ to the choir, girlfrann.

Leave a Reply

