May: The Month of Movies

Let’s talk about how I absolutely cannot wait for May to get here.

This feeling of dizzy anticipation is nothing new to me. As a child, the month of May was a promise of wonderful things to come: the end of the school year, my birthday, and the beginning of summer vacation.

But there is another reason I have always welcomed the coming of this glorious month: the start of the summer movie season.

As we all know, summer is a time to retreat into cool, dark theatres and take refuge from the sweltering sun. It’s a time to relax, sip sodas, and enjoy a mindless action flick.

This year’s outlook is promising, as there appears to be a slew of exiting movies ahead. Here are the ones debuting in May that have caught my interest.

Iron Man 3
I’ll be honest, I was not a fan of Iron Man 2. The villain bored me, the minor characters grated on my nerves, and Tony’s character shift from loveable jerk to outright asshole was not an enjoyable experience. However, the trailers for the newest installment have gotten me intrigued despite all this. I’m pleased that the director and writers are building off of the events of The Avengers in order to develop Tony’s character further. After a near-death experience and an alien attack on Manhattan, he is understandably shaken and driven to protect what he cares about. We shall see whether Ben Kingsley’s turn as the terroristic, growly-voiced Mandarin works or just feels like a knock-off of Bane, a DC villain with some similar traits.
Release date: May 3 (USA)
[youtube.com/watch?v=Ke1Y3P9D0Bc]

Star Trek: Into Darkness
I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t absolutely ecstatic about this one. I adored Abram’s first stab at the Star Trek franchise in 2009 and cannot wait to see what he’ll do with the sequel. Each trailer looks more intense and dire, thanks largely to the glimpses we’re getting at Benedict Cumberbatch’s villainous character.  With its all but perfect casting, brilliant scoring by Michael Giacchino, and gorgeous action sequences, this one is sure to please nerds like me (and everyone else, too, I suppose).
Release date: May 17 (USA)
[youtube.com/watch?v=yhz4A5BCMAA]

The Great Gatsby
I’ve had my eye on this movie for quite some time. It was supposed to come out last year, but got pushed to May. As one of the few people I know who actually enjoyed reading the book, I was appalled by the uninspired 1974 version starring Robert Redford that my high school English teacher made us watch. The trailers for this new film promise a flashy, glamorous Baz Luhrmann experience, which is truer to the spirit of the Roaring 20’s and the outrageous parties that the title character hosts at his manor in East Egg. Leonardo DiCaprio has the talent to capture the depth of Gatsby’s character and Luhrmann is passionate enough to make this work.
Release date: May 10 (USA)
[youtube.com/watch?v=h7AFnJbETLw]

So, yeah. I’m stoked. Just one more month to go!

-Alyssa

About I've seen that movie, too

I'm just a girl who loves talking about music and movies. And music in movies.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May: The Month of Movies

  1. lorcanh says:

    its a good movie month alright looking forward to iron man 3

  2. Pingback: May Movie Madness: three mini reviews | alyssagrimley

Leave a Reply

