Let Us Give Star-Spangled Thanks

Between Donald Trump and Burger King’s black-bunned Whopper, it can be kind of hard to find things to be thankful for on this most American of holidays.

burger-king-black-burger-780x439

Seriously, what did we do to deserve this? Actually, don’t answer that.

Thankfully, when I find myself in times of trouble, Captain Rogers calls to me, speaking words of wisdom: “I’m with you ‘til the end of the line.”

The trailer for Captain America: Civil War just dropped, and it’s heavy on the gut-punches, both literal and figurative. I knew this movie was going to leave me a blubbering mess from the first scene in the trailer, when Steve finally finds his best friend Bucky—and Bucky remembers him.

Then we see Tony Stark and Steve falling on very different sides of a government mandate to comply with the Superhero Registration Act. We also get a pretty powerful exchange between Cap and Stark/Iron Man:

Steve:
Sorry, Tony. You know I wouldn’t do this if I had any another choice. But he’s my friend.

Tony:
So was I.

capamgif

[Sidebar: This scene would have a lot more umph if Joss Whedon had, y’know, actually built up a friendship between these two instead of just having them exchange barbs and posture at each other over the course of two movies, but I digress]

Captain America is my favorite Marvel superhero (and perhaps my favorite superhero, period) because he represents the best of America. He’s selfless, compassionate, and does the right thing not because it’s easy or politically advantageous, but because it’s the right thing. He stands by the defenseless and stands against purveyors of hate, fear, and greed. I actually think we’d be in less of a mess as a country if more people and politicians asked themselves What would Steve Rogers do? before they made a decision.

So, while Civil War won’t be out until May of next year, we can take heart knowing that, in the Marvel cinematic and comic universe at least, there exists an America where a good-hearted kid from Brooklyn defends the values we should all strive to uphold.

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody. And God bless (Captain) America.

-Alyssa

About I've seen that movie, too

I'm just a girl who loves talking about music and movies. And music in movies.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

